TRHT Leadership Team

Sharon Stroye, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Programs in the School of Public Affairs and Administration (SPAA) has been a member of the Rutgers Newark community since 2001, gaining experience in various positions responsible for academic and professional development, strategic career planning, and mentorship, and empowering students from varied and diverse backgrounds. She was born and raised, and attended school in the City of Newark. While earning her BS degree in Accounting from Bloomfield College, she raised three children as a single mom, worked on a full-time basis. Sharon holds Master degrees in Public Administration and Business Administration. The benefit of education continues to motivate and inspire Sharon to empower the residents of the City of Newark .


Born in Santiago, Dominican Republic, and raised in the Bronx, Yoleidy Rosario holds a B.A. in Theatre and English and a Masters in Higher Education. As a first-generation Afro-Latinx personality, Rosario has a vested interest in working with first-generation students, low-income students, multicultural/intercultural education and programming, LGBTQQIAAP education and programming, and affirmative action affairs. They are also passionate about issues related to college access, retention and affordability. Rosario facilitates intercultural programs and workshops that address issues related to race, gender, culture, social justice, ability, class and religion. Their research interests include equity in education, performance of cultural and gender expression, Afro-Latin @/X culture and history, the roles of diversity and oppression in academic settings, and the impact of race, gender, class on educational outcomes.


Timothy K Eatman, Dean of the Honors Living-Learning Community and Associate Professor of Urban Education in the College of Arts & Sciences.  He previously served as Associate Professor of Higher Education at Syracuse University and faculty co-director of Imagining America: Artists and Scholars in public Life (IA), a thriving consortium of over 100 colleges, universities, and cultural organizations- including Rutgers University-Newark-whose members strengthen the public roles of arts, humanities, and design fields through research and action initiatives, coalition building, and leadership development.


Diane Hill   Assistant Chancellor at Rutgers University-Newark. She has been a member of the Rutgers University administration since 1988 and is the co-founding Director of the Center for Pre-College Education and Outreach at Rutgers-Newark. In 2002, she founded and directed the Office of Campus and Conference Services, which evolved into the Office of Campus and Community Relations (OCCR) because of the department’s expanded role in executing and promoting community engagement initiatives. In 2010, Dr. Hill collaborated with the Office of the Chancellor to expand the vision of OCCR and transformed it into the Office of University-Community Partnerships, the campus’s first institutionalized office to advance university -community partnerships. She is responsible for creating and promoting partnerships and research collaborations between the university and public, private and community-based organizations.


Bonita Veysey, Vice Chancellor for Planning and Implementation, is the Inaugural Director of the P3 Collaboratory for Pedagogy, Professional Development and Publicly-Engaged Scholarship and a Professor in the School of Criminal Justice at Rutgers University-Newark. Dr. Veysey has been an active faculty member since 1998 and during her time here has served as both the Associate Dean for Academic Programs and the Interim Dean of the School of Criminal Justice and as Vice Chancellor for Planning and Implementation. Her research to date focuses primarily on behavioral health and justice issues, including continuity of care and reentry; police interactions with persons with mental illnesses; mental health and substance abuse treatment in jails and prisons ; diversion and treatment services for youth with behavioral health problems; treatment and supervision of justice-involved girls and women; and the adult consequences of early childhood trauma. Dr. Veysey is the lead on all P3 Collaboratory activities and the primary liaison to the faculty, leadership of the Schools/colleges, and the Chancellor and Provost.


Professor Taja-Nia Y.   Henderson received her A.B. from Dartmouth College, and her J.D., M.A., and Ph.D. from New York University. At NYU School of Law, she was a Dean’s Scholar, Senior Notes Editor of the N.Y.U. Law Review, and recipient of the Gary E. Moncrieffe Graduation Award.After graduating law school, Professor Henderson served as the Derrick Bell Teaching Fellow in constitutional law at NYU School of Law and also clerked for the Hon. Consuelo B. Marshall, U.S. District Court, Central District of California. Before joining the Rutgers faculty in 2010, Professor Henderson was an associate in the litigation group of Arnold & Porter LLP in New York, where her practice included commercial litigation and pro bono civil rights advocacy. Her teaching and research interests are in slavery, incarceration, offender reentry, law and society, and land use/property.


Sherri-Ann P. Butterfield is Executive Vice Chancellor and Associate Professor of Sociology at Rutgers University–Newark. She received her B.A. in Sociology from Yale University, and Ph.D. in Sociology from the University of Michigan. Her scholarly interests are immigration, race and ethnic relations, sex and gender, identity development and culture, and urban education within the Afro-Caribbean diaspora. Butterfield’s research specifically explores how race, ethnicity, class, and gender impact Afro-Caribbean immigrants and their children within the metropolitan contexts of New York/New Jersey and London. Her work has appeared in numerous journals and edited volumes that include the International Journal of Sociology and Social Policy and the Research in Urban Sociology Series. She has served in numerous academic and administrative capacities, including Visiting Academic Fellow in Nuffield College at Oxford University, Faculty Fellow in the Office of the Chancellor, Acting Director of the Women and Gender Studies Program, Associate Director of the Institute on Ethnicity, Culture, and the Modern Experience, American Council on Education Fellow at New York University, and former Chair of the Sociology and Anthropology Department.